0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Curious

johnny880
I am curious to see how many of you have taken music lessons, music school or any formal training. And how some of you may have done it the hard way like me. I couldn't afford the lesson thing so I chose the hard way. Kind of forced into that area. I am interested in hearing from both camps. If it really makes a difference from those that have taken those lessons and those that are self taught ? And does it make a difference in the long run ? Or is it more how you get there ? This query is aimed more at the seasoned pro big boys and girls out there and in this forum that would like to maybe put in a few words on how they got where they are now. But if newer players want to chime in on how you are learning. Go nuts. I would like to hear that as well. I am sure lessons speed up the process of getting there, but there is something to be said about going it alone. I would like to hear your thoughts. Pros and Cons.
johnny880
Don't be shy now. Do tell.
Marko1960
Let me start by saying Paul McArtney never took a lesson and can't read a line of music, that says it all really. I never took lessons but wish I did. My youngest brother, seven years my junior, got into bass cos I had one and he was playing it without my knowledge, he took it far more seriously than me, he learnt one of Jaco's hardest pieces and used it to get into Newcastle Polytechnic studying Jazz Bass. He moved to Newcastle, 30 miles from our home town, and got into various bands, Newcastle is a big city with a vibrant music scene ( The Animals, Sting, Lindisfarne etc) he got session work with a band based in Newcastle called The Lighthouse Family who had moderate chart success. Being a pro has taken him places I can only dream of, bass playing is his day job
LoudLon [moderator]