0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Im starting bass because i finally have free time due to the isolation

Rebassu
Hello everyone, I'm starting to play bass and I'm looking forward to being a part of this community.
since I'm a beginner I would like to get some advice on bass, how should I start? learning songs or theres any other way to actually progress while this pandemic it's going on?
johnny [staff]
Some friends of mine are making really good youtube videos teaching how to play the bass. Check out the beginners button at the top of the website.

Here's an example of such a video

Kronisk
I am starting all over again, myself.

When I learned for the first time, I was fourteen years old, and I knew so little about music. The teacher I started with got me playing some very basic riffs. Popvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit, the main riff basically consisted of a series of four notes repeated four times a piece. Playing that bore at least taught me to move my hands around the frets and to pay attention to the note to note rhythm.

But I really started learning when I got a good teacher and he taught me the bass parts of Black Sabbath songs. I think the first song he taught me was Symptom Of The Universe, which has some very good riffs for learning.

I also highly recommend finding tabs of songs that you really like. It is no good learning something that you despise the maker of. When I learned what Popvana or more recent era Poptallica songs consisted of in bass terms, it did not take me long to stop listening. Whereas learning the bass parts of My Dying Bride, Black Sabbath, or Mr. Bungle songs furthered my appreciation of them.