0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

New to bass and have a issue tuning

blb2752
Hey all, I am new to playing bass, anyway I have it tuned to the standard E,A,D,G anyway when playing especially on the first three frets I have almost no tone at all its more of like a dull vibration any advice on how to fix or adjust this?
IamMark
How old are your strings?

Could be defective strings, but odd if all 4 are doing the same thing.
MotorMog
Sounds very much like the intonation is out and the fretted notes are playing flat, you will need to adjust the bridge saddles so the open notes are also in tune at the 12th fret
If the notes are flat move the bridge saddle forward and the back if it’s sharp,hopefully this will do the trick for you

2nick3
Welcome to the site, and the low end of things!

First thing I'd check is the volume on the bass itself - is it up? I'm guilty of that on my first bass - long, embarrassing story.
If you have an active preamp change out the battery - a dead/dying battery will do stuff like this.
Check the Gain on your amp, if it has one - turn it up a bit. Gain adjusts the input signal strength, so if it is too low the amp won't have enough signal to do anything with.
It could also be a bad cable - try another if you have one.

Let us know if none of that helps, and some more details on what you have - the type of bass and amp would be helpful in troubleshooting.
First few frets of which string(s)?

What kind of amp/cab/combo/headphones are you using? Is the equipment suitable for reproducing low frequencies?
johnny880
Quote:
Hey all, I am new to playing bass, anyway I have it tuned to the standard E,A,D,G anyway when playing especially on the first three frets I have almost no tone at all its more of like a dull vibration any advice on how to fix or adjust this?