0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Pick it... or Give 'em the Finger?

Zombiewolf
11 years ago
Report this message
Being a Chris Squire fan I learned to play with a pick more than with my fingers. Picks I use are stone picks, all different shapes and sizes.

A few years ago I got called out by a real good blues drummer and he messed up my world. I had to get back to the basics and build up those picking fingers. Now I am fully armed - Pick It or Give 'em the Finger! Thoughts…
bass freak
Pick all the way! Peter Hook is the way & the light!!!
Sidsquishus
I started playing using a pick exclusively. Eventually the band folded and I put the bass down. When I started playing again, fingers felt and sounded better than using a pick. So now it is almost exclusively finger style. Sometimes I'll use a pick if the tempo is really fast, but I don't like the sound. I have to fiddle with all the tone controls if I use a pick.
bass freak
I prefer to use a pick as the music I mostly like the bass is played with picks. Not really that fond of finger playing though I do dabble.
for me it depends on the song…. if i play say bath of least resistance by nofx i use a pick, if i play pinball wizard by the who or something, fingers. if i play primus, THUMB! lol
icehouse1
I use a pick mostly due to a lack of ability when using my fingers.
i can do both but i do find a pick easier most times. not gonna lie. however a thumb bashing sometimes is funnnnnn
Sidsquishus
Quote:
I use a pick mostly due to a lack of ability when using my fingers.

Funny but that is exactly how I feel when I try to use a pick! I need to put in some practice time using a pick if I want to overcome that “lack of ability.”
softcell62
I'm with Icehouse1, I use the pick mostly as it suits my playing ability. I wish I had the flair to play with my fingers but it's not that good sadly.
Zombiewolf