0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Strings touch fretboard

Whoa.Frnk
I'm just beginning bass and I just bought my first one, and when I use the first fret on the E string or the first and second on the A string the string touches the fret board. Anything I can do to fix it at home? There's no way I can afford to get it fixed and the seller refuses to fix it for free.
Marko1960
A pro set up for action won't break the bank and would give you peace of mind, but if you want to have a go yourself you have two options, or a combination of the two, neck relief and saddle height adjustment. Find your truss rod adjustment nut, either at the top end of the neck in the headstock or at the body end of the neck. You will need an Allen Key of the correct size, insert the key and turn anti clockwise by one quarter turn. Next, re tune the bass and check if thE strings are still hitting the frets, repeat if this is the case but only the once, don't get carried away, excessive truss rod adjustment can break the rod or even the neck. If the problem continues you can raise the saddle height, the saddles are the parts on the bridge that the string passes over, notice the two tiny grub screws, an equal clockwise turn on each will raise the string, again, don't overdo it. You will probably end up with a high action which is a trade off for fret buzz, action is the distance of the strings from the frets, the smaller distance the better, I can just to say get a Rizla Paper under the strings on my Stingray and it makes it much easier to play.
One other thin to remember is your technique, are you fretting the strings correctly? Practice your scales so you can hear each note of the scale clearly with no buzzing or rattling and always use an amplifier, electric basses aren't designed for acoustic use. Good luck
2nick3