0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

About Bronx

The Bronx is the northernmost of the five boroughs of New York City. It is also, as Bronx County, the newest of the 62 counties of New York State. Located north of Manhattan and Queens, and south of Westchester County, the Bronx is the only borough not primarily located on an island. In 2009, the Census Bureau estimated that the borough's population on July 1, 2008 was 1,391,903, inhabiting a land area of 42 square miles (109 square kilometers). This makes the Bronx the fourth-most-populated of the five boroughs, the fourth-largest in land area, and the third-highest in density of population.New York's Five Boroughs at a GlanceJurisdictionPopulationLand AreaBorough ofCounty ofestimate for1 July 2008squaremilessquarekmManhattanNew York1,634,7952359the BronxBronx1,391,90342109BrooklynKings2,556,59871183QueensQueens2,293,007109283Staten IslandRichmond487,40758151City of New York8,363,710303786State of New York19,490,29747,214122,284Source: United States Census Bureau