0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Tablature Notation Assistance Please!

FatStringer
I'm a novice at notating tablature as you can probably tell if you have seen any of my previous submissions. So please bear with me as I attempt to learn. Right now what I need to know is how to notate a note that ends one bar and rings thru and begins the next bar. For example:

G |——————-|——————-|
D |—1———–1—|—1———–1—|
A |——4—–2——|——4—–2——|
E |———2———|———2———|

The final D1 (D#) in the first bar rings thru and is not played at the beginning of the second bar. Notating this on sheet music is easy, but I'm stumped with tabs.

Is this the right way?

G |——————-|——————-|
D |—1———–1—|–(1)———-1—|
A |——4—–2——|——4—–2——|
E |———2———|———2———|

Or is this the way?

G |——————-|——————-|
D |—1———–1>–|–(1)———-1—|
A |——4—–2——|——4—–2——|
E |———2———|———2———|

Or am I even on the right track at all?

I've seen folks use “r” or “>” to symbolize “let it ring” and “( )” to represent a sustained note. Does the D1 at the end of the first bar even need some type of qualifier? Does the “(1)” at the beginning of the second bar automatically tell me/you that this note is carried forward from the previous bar?

I appreciate the help guys!
Using the symbols (r,*,> are commonly used for notes that ring. Some will use some sort of duration for a short or long ring … as in ***,*******. Some use no form of duration, instead a duration of space in a bar will be empty. There really is no right or wrong way to do this, just what makes sense and it should be noted what the symbols represent.

I would not use an identification such as your example (1). This represents a Ghost note or option to use or not use in the progression. This also can be used for a starting or ending point of performing a slide.