0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Technique Worries

MelVinMaSsaCrE
11 years ago
Report this message
I'm self taught and lately I've been noticing certain things with my technique that really concern me. 1) after I'm done playing, when I open and close my fretting hand, I hear a lot of joints cracking. 2) My hands and arms fatigue very fast. 3) My finger joints ache during and after play. 4) I can never find a comfortable strap length. 5) I know I press on the frets/strings too hard, but I can't seem to break the habit. 6) My fretting hand is often uncomfortable even though my wrist is straight.

I want to correct these things before it's too late. I would appreciate any insight.
johnny [staff]
Are you doing any warmup exercises before you start or do you plunge straight into the hard stuff?

As for strap length, it's a problem for me too. I can't find the proper balance between looking cool and not being in pain, so I usually suffer and try to look cool by having it as low as possible (when playing a gig). Someone on this forum said “it's not a violin” I really liked that
No I don't do any warm ups, I just start playing. Reason being that they never seem to help, even when I have done them. Do you have any that you can recommend?
Sidsquishus
You might try positioning your bass higher (shorter strap) with the neck more vertical than horizontal. The ergonomics of a vertical neck are much kinder to your hands and wrists than a horizontal neck. (You can feel this just by holding your fretting hand in playing position then raising and lowering your arm from down-at-the-thigh to chest-high. Your hand will naturally be much more open and less strained to reach across frets in the high position.)

I know of a number of bass players who, after years of playing a standard electric bass, became unable to play because of pain and stiffness in their fretting hand. Switching to a vertical bass allowed them to play again.