0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

TABS vs Notation

MASKED BASSMAN
12 years ago
Report this message
Are there any other bass guitarists that can read notation?
Personally I prefer to read the notation because tabs seldom show the rhythm, dynamics, technique and take up too much space.
afults
I totally agree with what you are saying. I am also a bass guitarist that can read the proper musical notation, and it really does make it much easier to show all of the rhythm and dynamics of a song. The only reason that I chose to learn to read tabs was because tabs made it able for me to learn brand new song extremely fast, making it able for me to be playing them right away.
With my students that do RockSchool I am always making alternations to the tabs to make it more logical to play. When I play along with them I tend to keep my eyes on the notation rather than the tabs that they are reading.

Just remember that when you first get a song from a composer you could just receive the melody with a set of chords above it to improvise on. Thats when the band will brainstorm and make suggestions on how to play certain stuff. Others will hand you notation to play exactly as it should be.
There should be an option to upload and download staff notation in PDF format to songs.
Even if the tabs are included on the score.
notright
I agree, Tab only shows what fret, when reading sheet music you really dont need to know the song as well as if reading tab. If you can remember your abc's reading 8 notes isint that hard to do. Dont be lazy future basses!!!!!
Reading off a tab one must still listen to the recording over and over again to get the rhythm right and even then it is not 100% correct.
With staff notation you may sight read it perfectly once with the band even though you have not heard the recording before.
How many players are out there that spend too much time on getting to the right fret when they haven't really interpreted it yet…
johnny [staff]