0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

playing drunk

limmy
10 years ago
Report this message
so have any of you any experience playing a gig while drunk?

One time my band played a small show and we were the second band out of three. We got wasted during the first act and somehow we managed to play it okay. I shudder to think what would happen if the crowds weren't drunk or if the songs were a bit harder.

I am of the opinion that it's better to play sober so no need to preach, just wanna hear some fun stories.
LoudLon [moderator]
Well, this is likely going to cost me some of my street cred, but I don't drink. At least, anymore. Did quite a bit in my 20s but once I hit 30 or so, I simply lost interest. Even now when I go to bars, I'll order a coke or something. I can literally count the number of beers and/or hard liquor drinks I've had in the last ten years on one hand LOL

So no, I've never played a gig drunk before. But back when I was a rhythm guitarist for my first band, I played a yard party with what were at the time two undiagnosed broken fingers. Hurt like a bitch and my fingers looked like hot dogs the next day, but during the set I didn't miss a beat.

EDIT – whoops, the yard party was with my second band. The broken fingers thing was with my first band, and it was while we were recording two demo CDs, one with 6 tracks, one with 8. Pardon the brain fart. I'm old and prone to memory lapses.
linkinpark232
No Lon you didn't lose any of your “street cred”
Quote: