0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Which bands/genres/bassists have influenced your playing style the most?

MelVinMaSsaCrE
11 years ago
Report this message
For me, The Red Hot Chili Peppers, No Doubt, Lacuna Coil, Bob Marley and The Birthday Massacre have influenced how I play. When I write or doodle around, I find myself writing punk, reggae/ska, metal (on the 5 string), or an alternative sounding line. So, the bassists would be Flea, Tony Kanal, Marco Coti-Zelati, Family Man, and Nate Manor.
johnny [staff]
For me, it's mostly Mr. Big, one of my favorite bands. My guitar playing is influenced a lot by Paul Gilbert (as I am a guitarist primarily), and I try to look up to Billy Sheehan for my bass playing.

I really like red hot chili peppers and try to play stuff by them, and I also really love John Frusciante's solo albums, they're really really great, they also have some cool bass lines in them (Flea plays on some songs).

Hopefully I didn't offend anyone with a more guitar themed nature of this post , so I'll just mention another favorite guitarist of mine (and a great influence): Dick Dale. I think he's the coolest.
Sidsquishus
Punk, original first generation 1976-1980 stuff. I started playing because the local punk band needed a bass player, so this is the sort of material I first learned.

Later, I started learning classic songs from lots of genres, from blues and country to classic rock to grunge. The old classic stuff from the 1950's through 1960's is great for turn arounds, etc., within a scale - not something punk did.

Through the requests list here, I've learned of some great music (e.g. Divine Fits, Graffitti6) that I would not have heard otherwise.